Uploaded image for project: 'Jenkins'
  1. Jenkins
  2. JENKINS-59280

jiraJqlSearch Error Message: null value after upgrade

    XMLWordPrintable

Details

    • Bug
    • Status: Closed (View Workflow)
    • Major
    • Resolution: Fixed
    • jira-steps-plugin
    • None
    • Jenkins version: 2.194
      Jira-steps-plugin: 1.5.0
      Amazon Linux 2 hvm x86_64 (both Jenkins master and nodes, we use AWS Spotfleet for all nodes)

    Description

      After upgrading from jira-steps-plugin 1.4.5 to 1.5.0, any previously working jqlsearch now runs into the following error: 

      21:30:20  Error Code: -1
      21:30:20  Error Message: null value 

      After Upgrading, we had to re-enter JIRA username and API token for Authentication on the global Jenkins configuration page again. However, jirasearch still does not work. 

      Accessing JIRA via REST API using the search end point works appropriately:

      curl -u <user>:<token> "https://<company>.atlassian.net/rest/api/2/search?jql=project='<key>'" 

      Downgrading to jira-steps-plugin version 1.4.5 resolved the problem.

      We suspect a connection to https://issues.jenkins-ci.org/browse/JENKINS-57182.  

      Attachments

        Activity

          tschasmine Jasmin Börsig created issue -
          tschasmine Jasmin Börsig made changes -
          Field Original Value New Value
          Description After upgrading from jira-steps-plugin 1.4.5 to 1.5.0, any previously working jqlsearch e.g.
          {code:java}
          project = "ESDK1" AND "Request Type" = "ESDK App Submittal (ESDK1)" AND summary ~ "aebap-0.0.1-2018" {code}
          or even only
          {code:java}
          project = "ESDK" {code}
          now runs into the following error: 
          21:30:20  Error Code: -1
          21:30:20  Error Message: null value
          After Upgrading, we had to enter JIRA username and API token for Authentication again. However, jirasearch still does not work. 

          Accessing JIRA via REST API using the search end point works appropriately:
          {code:java}
          curl -u <user>:<token> "https://&lt;company&gt;.atlassian.net/rest/api/2/search?jql=project=&#39;ESDK1&#39;%20AND%20&#39;Request%20Type&#39;=&#39;ESDK%20App%20Submittal%20(ESDK1)&#39;%20AND%20summary~&#39;aebap-0.0.1-2018&#39;" {code}
          Downgrading to jira-steps-plugin version 1.4.5 resolved the problem.
          After upgrading from jira-steps-plugin 1.4.5 to 1.5.0, any previously working jqlsearch e.g.
          {code:java}
          project = "ESDK1" AND "Request Type" = "ESDK App Submittal (ESDK1)" AND summary ~ "aebap-0.0.1-2018" {code}
          or even only
          {code:java}
          project = "ESDK" {code}
          now runs into the following error: 
          {code:java}
          21:30:20  Error Code: -1
          21:30:20  Error Message: null value {code}
          After Upgrading, we had to enter JIRA username and API token for Authentication again. However, jirasearch still does not work. 

          Accessing JIRA via REST API using the search end point works appropriately:
          {code:java}
          curl -u <user>:<token> "https://&lt;company&gt;.atlassian.net/rest/api/2/search?jql=project=&#39;ESDK1&#39;%20AND%20&#39;Request%20Type&#39;=&#39;ESDK%20App%20Submittal%20(ESDK1)&#39;%20AND%20summary~&#39;aebap-0.0.1-2018&#39;" {code}
          Downgrading to jira-steps-plugin version 1.4.5 resolved the problem.
          tschasmine Jasmin Börsig made changes -
          Description After upgrading from jira-steps-plugin 1.4.5 to 1.5.0, any previously working jqlsearch e.g.
          {code:java}
          project = "ESDK1" AND "Request Type" = "ESDK App Submittal (ESDK1)" AND summary ~ "aebap-0.0.1-2018" {code}
          or even only
          {code:java}
          project = "ESDK" {code}
          now runs into the following error: 
          {code:java}
          21:30:20  Error Code: -1
          21:30:20  Error Message: null value {code}
          After Upgrading, we had to enter JIRA username and API token for Authentication again. However, jirasearch still does not work. 

          Accessing JIRA via REST API using the search end point works appropriately:
          {code:java}
          curl -u <user>:<token> "https://&lt;company&gt;.atlassian.net/rest/api/2/search?jql=project=&#39;ESDK1&#39;%20AND%20&#39;Request%20Type&#39;=&#39;ESDK%20App%20Submittal%20(ESDK1)&#39;%20AND%20summary~&#39;aebap-0.0.1-2018&#39;" {code}
          Downgrading to jira-steps-plugin version 1.4.5 resolved the problem.
          After upgrading from jira-steps-plugin 1.4.5 to 1.5.0, any previously working jqlsearch e.g.
          {code:java}
          project = "ESDK1" AND "Request Type" = "ESDK App Submittal (ESDK1)" AND summary ~ "aebap-0.0.1-2018" {code}
          or even only
          {code:java}
          project = "ESDK" {code}
          now runs into the following error: 
          {code:java}
          21:30:20  Error Code: -1
          21:30:20  Error Message: null value {code}
          After Upgrading, we had to re-enter JIRA username and API token for Authentication on the global Jenkins configuration page again. However, jirasearch still does not work. 

          Accessing JIRA via REST API using the search end point works appropriately:
          {code:java}
          curl -u <user>:<token> "https://&lt;company&gt;.atlassian.net/rest/api/2/search?jql=project=&#39;ESDK1&#39;%20AND%20&#39;Request%20Type&#39;=&#39;ESDK%20App%20Submittal%20(ESDK1)&#39;%20AND%20summary~&#39;aebap-0.0.1-2018&#39;" {code}
          Downgrading to jira-steps-plugin version 1.4.5 resolved the problem.
          tschasmine Jasmin Börsig made changes -
          Description After upgrading from jira-steps-plugin 1.4.5 to 1.5.0, any previously working jqlsearch e.g.
          {code:java}
          project = "ESDK1" AND "Request Type" = "ESDK App Submittal (ESDK1)" AND summary ~ "aebap-0.0.1-2018" {code}
          or even only
          {code:java}
          project = "ESDK" {code}
          now runs into the following error: 
          {code:java}
          21:30:20  Error Code: -1
          21:30:20  Error Message: null value {code}
          After Upgrading, we had to re-enter JIRA username and API token for Authentication on the global Jenkins configuration page again. However, jirasearch still does not work. 

          Accessing JIRA via REST API using the search end point works appropriately:
          {code:java}
          curl -u <user>:<token> "https://&lt;company&gt;.atlassian.net/rest/api/2/search?jql=project=&#39;ESDK1&#39;%20AND%20&#39;Request%20Type&#39;=&#39;ESDK%20App%20Submittal%20(ESDK1)&#39;%20AND%20summary~&#39;aebap-0.0.1-2018&#39;" {code}
          Downgrading to jira-steps-plugin version 1.4.5 resolved the problem.
          After upgrading from jira-steps-plugin 1.4.5 to 1.5.0, any previously working jqlsearch e.g.
          {code:java}
          project = "ESDK1" AND "Request Type" = "ESDK App Submittal (ESDK1)" AND summary ~ "aebap-0.0.1-2018" {code}
          or even only
          {code:java}
          project = "ESDK" {code}
          now runs into the following error: 
          {code:java}
          21:30:20  Error Code: -1
          21:30:20  Error Message: null value {code}
          After Upgrading, we had to re-enter JIRA username and API token for Authentication on the global Jenkins configuration page again. However, jirasearch still does not work. 

          Accessing JIRA via REST API using the search end point works appropriately:
          {code:java}
          curl -u <user>:<token> "https://&lt;company&gt;.atlassian.net/rest/api/2/search?jql=project=&#39;ESDK1&#39;%20AND%20&#39;Request%20Type&#39;=&#39;ESDK%20App%20Submittal%20(ESDK1)&#39;%20AND%20summary~&#39;aebap-0.0.1-2018&#39;" {code}
          Downgrading to jira-steps-plugin version 1.4.5 resolved the problem.

          We suspect a connection to https://issues.jenkins-ci.org/browse/JENKINS-57182.&#xA0;&#xA0;
          tschasmine Jasmin Börsig made changes -
          Description After upgrading from jira-steps-plugin 1.4.5 to 1.5.0, any previously working jqlsearch e.g.
          {code:java}
          project = "ESDK1" AND "Request Type" = "ESDK App Submittal (ESDK1)" AND summary ~ "aebap-0.0.1-2018" {code}
          or even only
          {code:java}
          project = "ESDK" {code}
          now runs into the following error: 
          {code:java}
          21:30:20  Error Code: -1
          21:30:20  Error Message: null value {code}
          After Upgrading, we had to re-enter JIRA username and API token for Authentication on the global Jenkins configuration page again. However, jirasearch still does not work. 

          Accessing JIRA via REST API using the search end point works appropriately:
          {code:java}
          curl -u <user>:<token> "https://&lt;company&gt;.atlassian.net/rest/api/2/search?jql=project=&#39;ESDK1&#39;%20AND%20&#39;Request%20Type&#39;=&#39;ESDK%20App%20Submittal%20(ESDK1)&#39;%20AND%20summary~&#39;aebap-0.0.1-2018&#39;" {code}
          Downgrading to jira-steps-plugin version 1.4.5 resolved the problem.

          We suspect a connection to https://issues.jenkins-ci.org/browse/JENKINS-57182.&#xA0;&#xA0;
          After upgrading from jira-steps-plugin 1.4.5 to 1.5.0, any previously working jqlsearch now runs into the following error: 
          {code:java}
          21:30:20  Error Code: -1
          21:30:20  Error Message: null value {code}
          After Upgrading, we had to re-enter JIRA username and API token for Authentication on the global Jenkins configuration page again. However, jirasearch still does not work. 

          Accessing JIRA via REST API using the search end point works appropriately:
          {code:java}
          curl -u <user>:<token> "https://&lt;company&gt;.atlassian.net/rest/api/2/search?jql=project=&#39;&lt;key&gt;&#39;" {code}
          Downgrading to jira-steps-plugin version 1.4.5 resolved the problem.

          We suspect a connection to https://issues.jenkins-ci.org/browse/JENKINS-57182.&#xA0;&#xA0;
          e_d_sic Tao Zhang added a comment -

          I have experienced the same issue after upgrading to 1.5.0

          Jenkins version: 2.184

          Jira-steps-plugin: 1.5.0

          Jenkins Master node is running inside jenkins/jenkins:2.184-centos container

          [Pipeline] jiraJqlSearch
          JIRA: Site - acme- Search JQL: project = 'acme' startAt: 0 maxResults: 1000
          Error Code: -1
          Error Message: null value

           

          e_d_sic Tao Zhang added a comment - I have experienced the same issue after upgrading to 1.5.0 Jenkins version: 2.184 Jira-steps-plugin: 1.5.0 Jenkins Master node is running inside jenkins/jenkins:2.184-centos container [Pipeline] jiraJqlSearch JIRA: Site - acme- Search JQL: project = 'acme' startAt: 0 maxResults: 1000 Error Code: -1 Error Message: null value  

          Sorry to hear that... I will look into this soon, probably I am guessing we need to make fields as optional, mean don't even send it when it is not present.

          nrayapati Naresh Rayapati added a comment - Sorry to hear that... I will look into this soon, probably I am guessing we need to make fields as optional, mean don't even send it when it is not present.
          nrayapati Naresh Rayapati added a comment - PR: https://github.com/jenkinsci/jira-steps-plugin/pull/91 Thank you https://github.com/konkit
          nrayapati Naresh Rayapati made changes -
          Status Open [ 1 ] In Progress [ 3 ]
          nrayapati Naresh Rayapati made changes -
          Status In Progress [ 3 ] In Review [ 10005 ]

          Merged and released with 1.5.1, should be available in update center soon.

          nrayapati Naresh Rayapati added a comment - Merged and released with 1.5.1, should be available in update center soon.

          Thank you for reporting tschasmine

          nrayapati Naresh Rayapati added a comment - Thank you for reporting tschasmine
          nrayapati Naresh Rayapati made changes -
          Resolution Fixed [ 1 ]
          Status In Review [ 10005 ] Closed [ 6 ]
          bkihm Benjamin Kihm added a comment - - edited

          We have still the issue with jira-steps-plugin 1.5.1:

          [Pipeline] jiraGetFields
          [Pipeline] jiraGetFieldsJIRA: Site - Jira - Querying All Fields including Custom fields.
          Error Code: -1
          Error Message: null
          [Pipeline] }
          [Pipeline] // scriptError when executing always post condition:hudson.AbortException at org.thoughtslive.jenkins.plugins.jira.util.JiraStepExecution.logResponse(JiraStepExecution.java:132) at org.thoughtslive.jenkins.plugins.jira.steps.GetFieldsStep$Execution.run(GetFieldsStep.java:68) at org.thoughtslive.jenkins.plugins.jira.steps.GetFieldsStep$Execution.run(GetFieldsStep.java:45) at org.jenkinsci.plugins.workflow.steps.SynchronousNonBlockingStepExecution.lambda$start$0(SynchronousNonBlockingStepExecution.java:47) at java.util.concurrent.Executors$RunnableAdapter.call(Executors.java:511) at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.run(FutureTask.java:266) at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor.runWorker(ThreadPoolExecutor.java:1149) at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(ThreadPoolExecutor.java:624) at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:748)
          
          bkihm Benjamin Kihm added a comment - - edited We have still the issue with jira-steps-plugin 1.5.1: [Pipeline] jiraGetFields [Pipeline] jiraGetFieldsJIRA: Site - Jira - Querying All Fields including Custom fields. Error Code: -1 Error Message: null [Pipeline] } [Pipeline] // scriptError when executing always post condition:hudson.AbortException at org.thoughtslive.jenkins.plugins.jira.util.JiraStepExecution.logResponse(JiraStepExecution.java:132) at org.thoughtslive.jenkins.plugins.jira.steps.GetFieldsStep$Execution.run(GetFieldsStep.java:68) at org.thoughtslive.jenkins.plugins.jira.steps.GetFieldsStep$Execution.run(GetFieldsStep.java:45) at org.jenkinsci.plugins.workflow.steps.SynchronousNonBlockingStepExecution.lambda$start$0(SynchronousNonBlockingStepExecution.java:47) at java.util.concurrent.Executors$RunnableAdapter.call(Executors.java:511) at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.run(FutureTask.java:266) at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor.runWorker(ThreadPoolExecutor.java:1149) at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(ThreadPoolExecutor.java:624) at java.lang. Thread .run( Thread .java:748)
          bkihm Benjamin Kihm made changes -
          Resolution Fixed [ 1 ]
          Status Closed [ 6 ] Reopened [ 4 ]

          bkihm Looks like this is a different step from what is being reported in this Jira jiraJqlSearch vs jiraGetFields 

          May I know from which version you have upgraded from? if you are upgrading from < 1.5.0 there was a non-passive change in 1.5.0 you would need to recreate sites from configure screen again.

          https://jenkinsci.github.io/jira-steps-plugin/changelog/

          nrayapati Naresh Rayapati added a comment - bkihm Looks like this is a different step from what is being reported in this Jira jiraJqlSearch vs jiraGetFields  May I know from which version you have upgraded from? if you are upgrading from < 1.5.0 there was a non-passive change in 1.5.0 you would need to recreate sites from configure screen again. https://jenkinsci.github.io/jira-steps-plugin/changelog/
          nrayapati Naresh Rayapati made changes -
          Resolution Fixed [ 1 ]
          Status Reopened [ 4 ] Closed [ 6 ]
          bkihm Benjamin Kihm added a comment - - edited

          nrayapati
          I upgraded from 1.4.5 to 1.5.1 directly.

          And yes I recreated the site configuration again but the error still exists.

          bkihm Benjamin Kihm added a comment - - edited nrayapati I upgraded from 1.4.5 to 1.5.1 directly. And yes I recreated the site configuration again but the error still exists.
          bkihm Benjamin Kihm added a comment -

          The problem still exists see above.

          bkihm Benjamin Kihm added a comment - The problem still exists see above.
          bkihm Benjamin Kihm made changes -
          Resolution Fixed [ 1 ]
          Status Closed [ 6 ] Reopened [ 4 ]
          nrayapati Naresh Rayapati added a comment - - edited

          bkihm I am be query fields without any issues. Please log a new JIRA if you are still facing this issue.

          JIRA Steps Plugin: 1.5.1
          Jenkins Version: 2.215

          nrayapati Naresh Rayapati added a comment - - edited bkihm I am be query fields without any issues. Please log a new JIRA if you are still facing this issue. JIRA Steps Plugin: 1.5.1 Jenkins Version: 2.215
          nrayapati Naresh Rayapati made changes -
          Resolution Fixed [ 1 ]
          Status Reopened [ 4 ] Closed [ 6 ]
          nrayapati Naresh Rayapati made changes -

          People

            nrayapati Naresh Rayapati
            tschasmine Jasmin Börsig
            Votes:
            4 Vote for this issue
            Watchers:
            8 Start watching this issue

            Dates

              Created:
              Updated:
              Resolved: