The Promoted Builds Simple Plugin fills a need for us very well. But, we don't usually need to keep these builds forever in the general case. But this plugin always sets the build to be kept forever.
Could there be a checkbox in the configuration to not mark promoted builds to be kept forever as part of the promotion? For my purposes, one checkbox that would apply to all levels is fine, but perhaps having it for each level is more appropiate.