Status: Closed (View Workflow)
Wasn't sure whether this was a bug or by design, but would it not make more sense to only log changes when the config files has actually been altered (as opposed to simply saved)?
Not such a large concern when all changes are made by people, but when using a plugin that alters config.xml programmatically, lots of noise can accumulate in the change log. In particular, the build description setter plugin saves the job configs on each run.
You should configure the plugin that it not save duplicate configuration files.
This could help you.
Description: Do not save the history if there is no change from the previous saved configuration. Duplicate history is often saved if the save option is selected after viewing a configuration without making any adjustments.
It is also common for system-level settings, as all system settings are saved again when the main configuration page is saved.
Why isn't that setting enabled by default? Why would we ever want to save duplicate history configs?
"Skip duplicate history" will be enabled by default in the next version of the plugin (2.3), which will be released sometime in February.
I think we had a good reason but I do not remember it anymore :-D