Uploaded image for project: 'Jenkins'
  1. Jenkins
  2. JENKINS-4646

Ability to wipe out workspace on only selected node

    XMLWordPrintable

Details

    • Improvement
    • Resolution: Unresolved
    • Major
    • core
    • Platform: All, OS: All

    Description

      I recently created a new job and I thought tied it to a particular slave. Later
      I realized that I had in fact forgotten to tie it to that slave, and the first
      few builds ran on master. I corrected this and now it is running on the slave as
      desired.

      However now the master has an old copy of the job's workspace too. Since the
      workspace is ~1 Gb, I would like to clean it up. But I want to leave the
      actively used workspace on the slave intact, since recreating it is much slower
      than running an incremental build - needs to do a full SCM checkout and then do
      some big downloads.

      Unfortunately there seems to be no way through Hudson's GUI to delete the
      workspace on a particular node (master, in my case). I presume "Wipe Out
      Workspace" would delete all copies.

      Not sure what the best GUI would be, but perhaps the .../wipeOutWorkspace page
      which displays a confirmation button could have a list of checkboxes, all
      initially checked, listing the nodes on which a copy of the workspace currently
      resides (if there is >1 such node). You could uncheck some of them if you
      wished. The node on which the last build ran should be highlighted.

      Attachments

        Issue Links

          Activity

            People

              Unassigned Unassigned
              jglick Jesse Glick
              Votes:
              25 Vote for this issue
              Watchers:
              23 Start watching this issue

              Dates

                Created:
                Updated: