Uploaded image for project: 'Jenkins'
  1. Jenkins
  2. JENKINS-46887

Random user specified making change when plugins updated

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Similar Issues:

      Description

      Plugins were updated, which forces changes to jobs that use plugins that include their version information.  Was looking at a job that had a recent change as shown by the job config history plugin.  The changes were all plugin version changes, and a specific user, not 'anonymous', was listed.  He shouldn't have access rights to update plugins.  I asked him if he did, he had no idea what I was talking about.

       

      Looking at the list of similar issues, this might be a duplicate of 

        Attachments

          Activity

          Hide
          jochenafuerbacher Jochen A. Fürbacher added a comment -

          The user, who is listed at the JCH page of a certain job is not the user who updated plugins. If the plugins were updated by anyone (who has rights to do that), these version changes will get saved the next time the job configuration will get saved. So if your user saved the job configuration (even if he didn't really change something on the job configuration), the plugin versions in that job configuration will change. Since your user is that one who saved the configuration page, JCH shows, that your user changed the plugin version information on that job configuration. Well, he haven't done that directly, but as he saved the job configuration after the plugins were updated by anyone, this change got assigned to your user.

          Show
          jochenafuerbacher Jochen A. Fürbacher added a comment - The user, who is listed at the JCH page of a certain job is not the user who updated plugins. If the plugins were updated by anyone (who has rights to do that), these version changes will get saved the next time the job configuration will get saved. So if your user saved the job configuration (even if he didn't really change something on the job configuration), the plugin versions in that job configuration will change. Since your user is that one who saved the configuration page, JCH shows, that your user changed the plugin version information on that job configuration. Well, he haven't done that directly, but as he saved the job configuration after the plugins were updated by anyone, this change got assigned to your user.

            People

            Assignee:
            stefanbrausch Stefan Brausch
            Reporter:
            lonndoggie Lonnie Brownell
            Votes:
            1 Vote for this issue
            Watchers:
            3 Start watching this issue

              Dates

              Created:
              Updated: